Skip to Main Content Untitled Document

Career & Technical Service Organizations: NATIONAL TECHNICAL HONOR SOCIETY

National Technical Honor Society 2019/2020


1.  What is the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS)?  The National Technical Honor Society (website )

The National Technical Honor Society honors the achievements of top CTE students, provides scholarships to encourage the pursuit of higher education, and cultivates excellence in today’s highly competitive, skilled workforce. The society awards over $250,000.00 in scholarships each year to various career and technical education students throughout the nation. 

2.  What are the benefits for students who are members of the organization?

  • Students are honored at a candlelight ceremony at Salem High School.  Guest speakers have included the Superintendent, the Principal, and the CTE Director.

  • Students are presented with certificates, purple and silver honor cords, and a white tassel at the ceremony typically distributed by the CTE Director, the Assistant Superintendent, and the CTE instructors. The cords and tassels may be worn at the students’ graduation exercises. 

  • Scholarships- over 250 Jon H. Poteat $1,000.00 Scholarships are awarded to randomly selected members throughout the nation. Dual scholarships for students who are members of both NTHS and CTSO's including FBLA, HOSA, SkillsUSA, are available as well. 

  • Recruitment Opportunities by top colleges and businesses.

  • Personalized letters of recommendations for employment, college admissions, or scholarships.

  • Online Career resources.

3.  When and why was the NTHS established at SHS?

NTHS was founded at Salem High School in September of 1993 by a committee that consisted of the Vocational/CTE Director, the SHS Guidance Director, several Vocational/CTE instructors, SHS Guidance and Career Guidance from both Salem and Area schools within Region 17. 

4.  Are there any specific requirements students must have to join the National Technical Honor Society? Yes. 

  • Student must have an average of 90% or higher in the first year of their Career & Technical Program.

  • Student must have an A or an A- average in the first quarter of their second year in their Career & Technical Program, or be enrolled in Semester 2 with the intent of becoming a program completer. 

  • Student must have an overall Career GPA of 3.0 or higher.

  • Their Career & Technical instructor must nominate/approve student.

  • Students must meet the criteria set forth in the NTHS by-laws.


NTHS Dues for 2019-2020 are $30.00.  


NTHS Induction Ceremony


Automotive – Lyle Smith, Devin Ulbrich

Biomedical Science – Allison French, Olivia Manchester

Business Pathways – Delaney Cunningham, Olivia DeVito, Mikenzie Merrow

Carpentry – Joshua Petrin

Computer Science – Marcus Dominguez

Cosmetology – Chloe Croteau

Culinary Arts – Marissa Merrill

Digital Graphic Applications – Kayla Fisher

Engineering – Alexander Daigle, Alesandro Jacobellis, Emma Liptrap, Riley Mulvey, Evan Riel, Adam Smith, Brandon Wall

Health Science – Sydney Baldridge, Alyzon Barnes, Chelsea Barrett, Mary Bughao, Silvia Caddell, Chloe Capra, Kristen Carney, Mia Censullo, Sydney Chretien, Abigail Conaton, Arianna DiZoglio, Jordyn Franzen, Kaelyn Haggerty, Marisa Hamman, Abigail Hawkes, Caitlin Higgins, Erica Irvin, Finn Lambert, Emily Lefebre, Emily Mahoney, Madison Martin, Halle McGrail, Aislinn Milner, Katherine O'Brien, Corinne Richard, Olivia Salemi, Mya Sanford, Mia Saucedo, Chloe Sicard, Allison Sullivan, Izma Tariq, Cassidy Wentworth

Marketing – Trevor DeMinico, Stella Hazelton, Darian Huon, Andria Loiacono, Mikenzie Merrow, Ty Morris, Grace Owaida, Maegan Spampinato, Delaney Stone

Teacher Preparation – Krista Lebbos, Molly Porter

Television & Media Production – Anna Carroll, Amber Crocker, Grace Lumley, Nicholas Noble, Bre Paquette, Neil Rea, Jessica Salois, Emma Stahly, Bennett Wein


NTHS Induction Ceremony

January 16, 2020

Pledge of Allegiance.................Cassidy Wentworth

Welcoming Remarks.................Mr. Christopher Dodge, CTE Director

Speakers................................. Dr. Michael Delahanty, Superintendent

                                                Mrs. Tracy Collyer, Principal SHS

Candle Ceremony/Oath.......... NTHS Inductees

Certificate and Cords............. Mrs. Maura Palmer, Assistant Superintendent

                                                CTE Instructors

NTHS Pledge..........................Katherine O'Brien

Special Thanks....................... Culinary Arts Students


CTE Staff​

Chef Kaci Ahern                                    Mrs. Cynthia Masterson

Mrs. Terry Berube                                 Mr. Matthew McCarthy

Chef Jeffrey Bratz                                  Mrs. Colleen Morgan

Mrs. MaryBeth Cook                             Mrs. Janine Parent

Mr. Ryan Granger                                  Mr. Matthew Parker

Mr. Christopher Hazel                            Mr. Craig Robinson

Ms. Joelle Henry                                     Mr. John Seeman                 

Mr. Curtis Killion                                   Mr. James Slobig

Mrs. Kristen LeBlanc                             Mrs. Susan Torrisi

Mr. Joseph Liebke                                  Ms. Angela Vallee