It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Comp Research Resources 2020-2021: Civil Rights 1960s
These are multi-user ebooks available through our Virtual Reference database. Use the login with Google button.
Women Civil Rights LeadersAfrican American women have always placed great importance on helping others within their community. They have long formed the backbones of their families, church congregations, and communities. Black women have also played significant roles in the fight for racial equality. This book examines the roles of African American women in the struggle for racial equality and the reasons why these women were often undervalued by their male counterparts and largely ignored by historians until rather recently. Full chapters are devoted to describing the life and leadership of Ida Wells, Dorothy Height, Septima Clark, Rosa Parks, Jo Ann Robinson, Daisy Bates, Ella Baker, and Fannie Lou Hamer. Sidebars throughout the text highlight the contributions of other women who were influential during the Civil Rights Movement.
The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America"The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America" is a comprehensive reference source on the human rights and civil liberties that are legally recognized in the US. The US Consitution and the Bill of Rights define individual rights for Americans. The successive amendments to the Constitution and Supreme Court decisions further define these rights and relationships while protecting the individual citizen in an ever changing society.
American Social Reform Movements Reference LibraryThe movements that have helped shape American society, culture and politics: numerous illustrations and maps, engaging text, interesting sidebars, helpful words to know listings, research and activity ideas, as well as further reading suggestions, easy-to-use subject index and a concise chronology.
This book was just added to the collection in 2017-18.
Blood Brother by Rich Wallace
Call Number: 323 WAL
Jonathan Daniels, a white seminary student from New Hampshire, traveled to Selma, Alabama, in 1965 to help with voter registration of black residents. After the voting rights marches, he remained in Alabama, in the area known as "Bloody Lowndes," an extremely dangerous area for white freedom fighters, to assist civil rights workers. Five months later, Jonathan Daniels was shot and killed while saving the life of Ruby Sales, a black teenager. Through Daniels's poignant letters, papers, photographs, and taped interviews, authors Rich Wallace and Sandra Neil Wallace explore what led Daniels to the moment of his death, the trial of his murderer, and how these events helped reshape both the legal and political climate of Lowndes County and the nation.
Use your computer school login to access the ebooks below (i.e. rahopkins and password).
Civil Rights MovementThis book gives readers a comprehensive introduction to the topic of the Civil Rights Movement--arguably the most important political movement of the 20th century--and provides a road map for future study and historical inquiry. * Provides a chronology that traces the unfolding of the subject of movement over time * Features biographical profiles of the people and organizations central to the movement * Contains a selection of primary documents that provide readers with a fuller understanding of the subject * Includes an annotated bibliography that assesses the most important print, electronic, and media resources suitable for high school student research
Civil Rights MovementIn the face of injustice, people band together to work for change, and through their influence, what was once unthinkable becomes common. This title traces the history of the civil rights movement in the United States, including the key players, watershed moments, and legislative battles that have driven social change. Iconic images and informative sidebars accompany compelling text that follows the movement from the Reconstruction era through the movement's great successes in the 1960s and up to the challenges that still face the country today. Features include a glossary, selected bibliography, Web sites, source notes, and an index, plus a timeline and essential facts. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of ABDO Publishing Company.
Freedom SummerAn award-winning author offers a riveting account of the civil rights crusade in Mississippi 50 years ago that brought on shocking violence and the beginning of a new political order.
James FarmerJames Farmer organized the first nonviolent protests of the civil rights movement in the United States. As the founder of the Congress of Racial Equality, Farmer helped push the nation toward integration. One of the most influential leaders of the civil rights movement, he also served as Assistant Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare.