Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Talbott - Renaissance News: How to use this guide

Purpose of this research guide

This guide is intended to help direct you to relevant and credible sources for your Renaissance News project.  If you need assistance with using the databases or citing sources please remember Ms. Hopkins is here to help!  Stop by the library to see her or send her an email using your school account - rachel.hopkins@nhsau57.org.

Research Resources

Q: What database do I use?

Famous People/Explorers - Biography in Context

General information/Inventions - World History in Context or Britannica

Daily Events: entertainment, employment, etc. - Daily Life through History

Q: How do I find these resources?

You can use the drop down menu under the academic databases tab on this research guide to get to a database page. The left side of each page gives you a link to access, the right side gives you tips on using the database.  These databases and more are also always available at sau57.org/shsdatabases

Q: What do I use for username/password.

Some databases allow you to login with your school Google account so look for the Sign in with Google Button as shown below or visit the SHS Database Password document. 

Q: Why should I use a database?

  • articles are written by experts
  • additionally, all of these articles have been edited to make sure you get accurate, reliable information
  • it will help prepare you for using more advanced databases in college
  • each article provides you with a MLA citation